The Anaphoras are officially fourteen, the basic one in normal use being that of the Twelve Apostles. In the some ancient monasteries about six other Anaphoras are used. The Ethiopic Liturgy was the first to be published of all the Oriental Liturgies. It was printed at Rome in 1548.

Official Anaphoras:

1) Of the Apostles
2) Of our Lord Jesus Christ
3) Of our Lady Mary
4) Of St. John Chrysostom
5) Of St. Dioscorus
6) Of St. John the Evangelist
7) Of St. Gregory the Armenian
8) Of the 318 Orthodox
9) Of St. Athanasius
10) Of St.Basil
11) Of St. Gregory Nazianzen
12) Of St.Epiphanius
13) Of St. Cyril
14) Of James Serug

In each of these Anaphoras the words of Institution differ. The words of Institution in the “Liturgy Of the Apostles” are” take, eat, this bread is my body, which is broken for you for the forgiveness of sins “ –” take, drink, this cup is my blood, which is shed for you and for many”. The consecration is called MELAWAT, i.e. “change”.

 These are 14 Anaphoras ascribed to various saints, but only one is normally used, the alternate once being only for rare occasions. The normally one, that of the Twelve Apostles, is fundamentally identical with the Coptic Liturgy Of St. Cyril, although much more developed. The majority of these Anaphoras are comparatively late, apparently coming after the tenth century. The Anaphora of our Lord is used on the feasts of our Lord and on Mount Tabor; our Lady on the feasts of our Lady Mary, Gabriel and Dacesius; John the Son of Thunder on the feasts of St. John the Evangelist, St. Stephen, St. George, all Martyrs and Christmas; John Chrysostom on vigil of Passover, Day of Our Saviour, Feast of Cross, feast of John Chrysostom; Athanasius on Christian Sabbath; Epiphanius on Baptism day, the month of Rains; the 318 Nicean Fathers on feasts of Kana of Galilee, Gena, 24 Heavenly Priests; Gregory Nazianzen, Hosanna Feast and at Passion; Dioscorus on Ascension, Pentecost; Basil, feasts of all Patriarchs and Bishops; Cyril, on feast of Cyril the Patriarch and feasts of all the righteous and prophets; James Serug, on St. Michael and St. Gabriel, all Angels.

 Liturgy is celebrated daily. In addition to the celebrant (main priest) and at least one other priest, the presence of three deacons is required. The Ethiopic Liturgy is an expansion of the version of St. Mark, the rite used by the Coptic Church in Egypt. It is divided into pre-anaphora and anaphora. Anaphora corresponds to CANON of the Mass in the Western Churches. While the Western Churches has one anaphora (canon), the canon of the Mass with its Preface, there are fourteen Anaphoras in the Ethiopian Liturgy. However, the anaphora of the Twelve Apostles in the standard form in the Ethiopian Church and the others are used on special days.